About Us

Members of the ACAE Committee are all teachers working in primary schools throughout the country.

  • Ger Ó Sé is principal in St Catherine’s in Rush, Co Dublin
  • Gwen Williams teaches in St Brigid’s JNS in Broookfield, Tallaght
  • Helen Hallissey is a teacher in Scoil Mhuire, Ballincollig, Co Cork
  • Anthony O Flynn works in St Joseph’s BNS in Terenure
  • Mary Manley is principal of St Anne’s School in Ardclough, Co Kildare.

We have many years’ experience supporting children’s development in the arts in schools and have been involved in the provision of CPD for teachers, both in national in-service and in local workshop provision.

The Patron of ACAE is Michael D Higgins, President of Ireland. ACAE was launched by Mark Patrick Hederman, Abbot of Glenstal Abbey and author.

We have had many guests of honour to present our Creative Schools Award including Jan O Sullivan TD, Minister for Education; Senator David Norris; TV personality, Síle Seioghe; John Lonnergan and this year’s Awards will be presented by renowned pianist, John O Connor.